Tarot cards scrambled facing up, the card marked “Justice” on top
photo by: Jekaterina Timofejeva

Why I am Still Reading Tarot (but you can’t pay me to do it.)

Alythia of the Ash
14 min readJul 6, 2021

I should start by explaining that I have been a student and practitioner of Tarot even longer than I have been a witch. I have been in a relationship with the cards for more than 35 years. I have read professionally, taught workshops professionally, and have researched as much as I can about the history of the deck and its use.

I have always been aware of a relationship between the Romani people and Tarot. Recently, there has been a lot of discussion around the idea that non-Romani people should stop using Tarot decks for divination, because Tarot-reading is a closed practice belonging to the Romani people and any non-Romani use of Tarot is cultural appropriation. Some are responding to this by shredding their decks and “canceling” everyone who publicly practices Tarot. Others are being dismissive, claiming that there is nothing in the history of Tarot that suggests it has anything to do with the Romani.

I want to unpack all of this, and explain how I am choosing as a longtime Tarot practitioner and witch to respond to this issue. I am not going to claim that I know better than anyone else what is right. But as a teacher and a writer, I hope that shedding light on my thinking and my decisions around this issue can help others as they make their choices.

--

--

Alythia of the Ash

A believer in magic and justice and the right to be exactly as you are. Anything passing for wisdom here is likely the product of surviving my own stupidity.